Your Book List & What To Read Next


My husband has told me over and over, to stop buying books, only because we don’t have enough bookshelves, even though we just finished remodeling, but I can’t.  I’m obsessed with books.  Whenever I go into a bookstore, I immediately want to buy every single book I want to read…but the only thing is, it’s hard for me to read one at a time, so in order not to forget what the titles are, I buy them all — but then they get lost in my house, or get put on the back-burner, thanks to a new book.  The last few months, I’ve started to think that my husband’s right…(shh, don’t tell him), so I’ve come up with a plan, and so far, I think it’s going pretty well.

A few weeks ago, while strolling around in the bookstore and trying not to buy anything, I began using my Notes application on my phone to keep track of what I want to read.  Though it’s only been a few weeks, I’m surprised I don’t have more on my list.  Here are the books I plan on reading and reviewing.

I plan on reading one of these at a time and eventually finishing them all…and of course, adding more as time goes by.
So, how do you keep track of what you want to read, with or without your books piling up?

7 thoughts on “Your Book List & What To Read Next

  1. LOL. That’s the same thing my husband says to me. I keep my books to read on the front of the bookshelves and the ones I’ve read to the back. If there is something I want to remember about the books I read, I record them in my books I read journal with notes for future reference.

    I’ve been holding off buying books because I’m attending the RWA Conference at the end of the month and there are book giveaways (yes, free book, tons of them). I’m taking another suitcase to bring them all home. Another perk of the conference.

    BTW. Tell your husband it’s research why you need to read as many books as you do. That’s what I tell mine. :-)

  2. I use the library a lot for the books I want to read. I usually only buy books that I know I will want to read over and over or will use as research. As per keeping track of what books I want to read…. I have a lot of scraps of paper floating around. Not exactly a handy way to do it, but well, I can never think to keep track of them in a notebook or something functional.

    I do keep track of every book I’ve ever read from the library. Not so much of ones I own, but every book I finish from the library get’s written down in a composition book.

  3. Ha! I have a Note for books I want to read and a Note for books I’ve read this year. :-) I also have a wishlist on Amazon so I don’t forget what I want! I rarely buy books (income does not match reading appetite) so I usually get mine from the library.

    I also have this journal called Booklust where I write reviews, but it’s much easier to type them, so I’m way behind on that. :-)

    Also, we just bought another bookshelf…. cause Zach and I both have a lot of books!

    • Hey, Abby! Thanks for your comment! Having an Amazon wishlist is a great idea! I do go to the library and get books for my book review on my website, though I do admit that it gets a little overwhelming on picking out a book to check out. :-)

      That’s too funny about you and Zach getting another bookshelf. I think that Evan and I are heading down that road too!

      Thanks again for your comment!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s