Site icon Chick Lit Goddess

EXCERPT: “A Spirited Girl on Cornish Shores” by Laura Briggs

“A Spirited Girl on Cornish Shores” by Laura Briggs

Blurb: It looks like Cornish autumn, with aspiring novelist Maisie Clark still finding inspiration as a maid at the historic Penmarrow Hotel. Between the staff of quirky co-workers, glamorous and unusual guests, and her growing friendship with the charming but mysterious Sidney Daniels, Maisie is living out adventures instead of just penning them in the pages of her would-be novel’s growing number of chapters.

And then there’s the slight problem of keeping the balance between friendship and ‘something more’ with Sidney, who’s helping introduce her to the village’s version of a Cornish Halloween, and has recently taken an interest in Maisie’s secret that may change things between them. But even Maisie’s imagination can’t conjure the unusual event this Halloween brings to the Penmarrow. An eccentric earl has chosen this site to host his lavish birthday celebration that includes a pretty (and perceptive) young psychic whose predictions seem to have everyone on edge — and, to Maisie’s delight, the elusive novelist Alistair Davies is rumored to be part of the guest list! But with the earl’s bickering relatives and illustrious friends on hand— and more than one ghost of the past waiting to be revealed — it’s anyone’s guess what the festivities will bring before the party is over.

Will the psychic foretell doom for the earl’s gathering—and is her ‘gift’ as genuine as it seems? Will Maisie finally meet her favorite author face to face? And, more importantly, what about the romantic sparks that fly between Maisie and Sidney?

EXCERPT

“Do auras come in colors?” asked Molly.

Natalie laughed. “It’s not quite like that,” she answered. “It’s more the psychic sense of who you are.” Here, she closed her eyes. “I sense … written words … from what I see emanating from you,” she said. “And passion. Those two things are tied together for you.”

Molly’s eyes widened. “How did you know?” she said. “It’s my crosswords — she knows about them!” she said to Brigette, with amazement.

“Really?” said Brigette. “That’s what you read in her aura?” she said to the medium. “Crossword puzzles?”

Quite possibly she read it from the presence of the maid’s crossword book, tucked more often in her maid’s apron pocket than hotel guidelines allowed … although I couldn’t rule out the possibility that psychic auras contained clues about our hobbies as well.

“Not in so many words, right?” said Molly to Natalie.

“Not unless the reading is very strong,” said the medium. “For your friend Bridget, for example, I’m getting a definite sense of recent accomplishment.”

“Brigette,” corrected the former concierge.

“Is it? I’m sorry,” said Natalie. “There was something in the vibrations. I don’t know why or what — it made me certain it was Bridget. Yet your name tag quite clearly says otherwise. Silly me.” She laughed.

It was Bridget, I was fairly sure, and not just because of the brief look of annoyance on my coworker’s face, or the soft traces of her native accent. Maybe it was the old name tag I had found hooked on a jumper in the uniform closet that clued me in. I had long suspected the French spelling was entirely the choice of the hotel concierge’s personal tastes.

“And something else,” continued Natalie. She raised one hand a little, her eyes closed. “I sense … a secret desire. Romantic feelings are involved in it somehow. Aren’t they?”

Surprisingly, Brigette’s face was now a furious shade of scarlet. “I don’t know what you mean,” she said. “I haven’t a crush on anybody.  Or romantic feelings towards anybody, or anything of the sort. I’m sure that if I did, I would be perfectly aware of it. You’re mistaken, I’m afraid.” She fumbled for her pink highlighter and it escaped her grip, falling to the carpet below. Natalie turned to me, and I held up my hand. “That’s not necessary,” I said, hastily. “I know myself pretty well, and I’m not quite ready to know about my future.” Better safe than sorry, I thought … just in case my aura was somehow planning to reveal my secret for being here.

**A note from the author: Thank you so much to Isabella for letting me share an excerpt from my  her lovely readers! This is the second book in my new romance series where the heroine Maisie is an aspiring author who finds herself working at a grand Cornish hotel. With Halloween just around the corner, a wealthy, eccentric guest has invited a famous psychic to the hotel as part of their elaborate birthday celebration. In the scene below, Maisie and her two co-workers, the shy chambermaid Molly and the desk clerk Brigettearegiven a demonstration of the psychic Natalie’s supposed gift—but is the psychic everything she seems?


About the author: Laura Briggs is the author of several feel-good romance reads, including the Top 100 Amazon UK seller ‘A Wedding in Cornwall’. She has a fondness for vintage style dresses (especially ones with polka dots), and reads everything from Jane Austen to modern day mysteries. When she’s not writing, she enjoys spending time with family and friends, caring for her pets, gardening, and seeing the occasional movie or play.

**Contact Laura!: Facebook Twitter


**GIVEAWAY**

Giveaway to Win one of 3 Cornish themed prizes (Open Internationally)

1stPrize: A Ross Poldark collectible Knitdark character doll (Open Internationally) –1 winner

Perfect for fans of all-things Cornwall, this Ross Poldark doll with tricorn hat is made by Angela Blay, whose popular Knitdark creations have been featured on The Graham Norton Show. Since each doll is hand made, the Ross the winner receives may vary slightly in appearance from the one in the picture. Readers can learn more about the Knitdarks at Angela’s Twitter page @kwerkyknits as well as her Etsy shop at https://www.etsy.com/uk/shop/kwerkyknits

2ndPrize: A decorative tin T.A.R.D.I.S (Open Internationally) –1 winner

A tin T.A.R.D.I.S similar to the keepsake Maisie is gifted by Sidney in Book 1, A Little Hotel in Cornwall. Designed by Etsy artist KittyConduitt81 and perfect for fans of Doctor Who! Being a unique, hand made item, the final design may vary slightly in appearance from the one pictured. Learn about KittyConduittDesigns on Etsy at https://www.etsy.com/shop/KittyConduittDesigns

3rdPrize: A Kindle/Tablet case featuring cover art from A Little Hotel in Cornwall (Open Internationally) –1 winner

A specially designed case for a Kindle or Tablet featuring the cover art for Book 1 in the series A Little Hotel in Cornwall. The final product’s size, texture, and color will depend on the winner’s device.

*All 3 winners will also receive a digital copy of Book 1 in the series, A Little Hotel in Cornwall.

*Terms and Conditions –Worldwide entries welcome.  Please enter using the Rafflecopter box below.  The winner will be selected at random via Rafflecopter from all valid entries and will be notified by Twitter and/or email. If no response is received within 7 days then Rachel’s Random Resources reserves the right to select an alternative winner. Open to all entrants aged 18 or over.  Any personal data given as part of the competition entry is used for this purpose only and will not be shared with third parties, with the exception of the winners’ information. This will to the giveaway and used only for of the prize, after which time Rachel’s Random Resources will delete the data.  I am not responsible for despatch or delivery of the prize.

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Exit mobile version